Number of awards we've founded in honour of social democratic icons Charles Taylor and the late Jack Layton.

Past winners of the Charles Taylor Prize for Excellence in Policy Research, awarded annually to a researcher whose work has made an important contribution to policy debates relevant to building a more socially just Canada, include Taylor himself and Leah Vosko, a specialist in the study on precarious work. The Jack Layton Progress Prize, awarded annually to an individual or organization who has run a particularly noteworthy political or issue campaign reflecting the ideals exemplified by Layton, including justice, sustainability and democracy, has gone to the February 14th Women's Memorial March Committee and Jill Piebiak of Canadian Menstruators.